Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie

Image

What does selfie mean? According to Oxford dictionary (online), definition of selfie is a photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and uploaded to a social media website. Unfortunately, recently I just found out that many of my friends have a misunderstanding about selfie means. They thought selfie is the photograph of oneself (without being accompanied by others) and it has taken by others. So, everytime I upload my photograph and receive a comment from someone who has a misunderstanding about selfie, I’ll try to correct their understanding and give their an explanation about selfie means. I think it is necessary for us to understand about what we say. So, please correct me if I am wrong.

Talking about selfie, I am not used to do that kind of thing. As I remember, if I try to make a selfie, the result always not satisfactory at all. But one day, when I went to some places by myself, there are only 3 options if I want to capture the moment. First, I could only take the picture of the beautiful view of that place. Second, if I want to have myself in the picture, I could ask someone to take my photo, but it is a little bit annoying I think. So the last option is selfie, I have to take my own picture by myself. So that I try to make selfie. I try so many times to get at least one good picture, but as you can see (the above photograph) the photo is still not good. Then, though (perhaps) it was a little bit annoying and embarrassing, I ask anyone I meet to take my photo :D. In my opinion, to memorize the special moment,  I would ask someone to help me in taking my picture rather than I make a selfie with bad result because the moment itself will never be repeated.

Leave a Reply

